Home > Uncategorized > my top 5 reasons to work out

my top 5 reasons to work out

After taking an entire week off from exercising, I’m finally back into the swing of things. I had the stomach flu. Awful stuff, don’t get it. I laid in bed for 2 1/2 days with bodyaches, headache, fever, nausea, etc..
What an energy drainer.

My first day coming back to working out sucked. I actually decided to join my bootcamp participants in a team challenge Molly and I had them do. There was a odd number so I decided to join in the fun. I pushed myself since I wanted help out the team, but wow.. it was hard coming back just after 7 days of not doing any form of activity!
I got back into my power/olympic lifting on tuesday after taking a week off that as well. I could tell I was still recovering because EVERYTHING seemed challenging when it shouldn’t have been. i don’t think i really lost strength, but i felt so weak. the next day i decided to run. surprisingly, that wasn’t too bad until my calf freaked out a bit and now it hurts. injuries are worse for me than being sick.
So after all of that (just 3 days of getting back on the grind), i am so sore i can barely walk up and down the stairs. haha, oh well…nothing will ever make me stop. and this is why i decided to write out a list of my top 5 reasons i work out. it has become a part of my lifestyle that won’t be changing..ever.

1) Working out gives me energy.


there’s only so much coffee i can drink before the effects no longer work for keeping me energized and awake.
for someone like me who has to wake up at 4:30 a.m. 4-5 days out of the week and works with little random breaks throughout the day until about 7:30 p.m., they are going to need to stay energized. with my job, i’m not just sitting at a desk doing mindless tasks either. i am constantly walking around the gym, showing exercises, talking with clients about their lives, and educating them about what they’re doing and why we’re doing it.
i have found nothing else that gives me the energy like consistent exercise does. it doesn’t even matter what i’m doing as long as i’m moving. lifting, running, yoga, whatever it is. i find that on the days i don’t exercise, those are the days when my exhaustion kicks in and i feel drained.

2) It’s cheaper than therapy.

i’ve wrote about how lifting heavy and running has completely cured my anxiety here.
I’ve seen a couple different therapists before in my life due to my anxiety and depression. It’s funny, because i went to college for psychology. i wanted to be a mental health counselor. i’m not saying there’s anything wrong with therapy…i’d actually still love to do that in the future. but for someone like me, it didn’t work. and neither did the medication i was prescribed on. in fact, it made me crazy. i don’t know if it’s because i studied so much psychology that i consciously know what the therapists are going to try to tell me during each session and maybe i was just too stubborn to listen.
anyway, i can count on one hand how many times i’ve had a panic attack since i started consistently working out.
i used to have a constant tight feeling in my chest from being so stressed. now, it’s very rare even when i am super stressed.
i used to shut the world out when i’d feel down. now, i stick my headphones in and run and focus on getting faster.
i used to have outofnowhere crying episodes. i can’t remember the last time that happened.

3) Confidence.

During middle school, high school, and the first part of college… i had zero confidence. every morning i’d avoid the mirror. i hated who i saw. i never understood why anyone wanted to be friends with me or date me.
i look back at pictures of myself during some of those times and get sad for that person. i don’t even know her. she was so guarded and did things to hide from people.

ever since i started running and weightlifting, i have had SO MUCH confidence. i can tell the changes in myself physically, but also mentally. my outlook on life has changed so much.
what’s funny is that i actually weigh the most i’ve ever weighed in my life right now. when i had no confidence, i would do strict things to lose weight. now, i could care less. this weight has allowed me to run countless miles in the last year, been able to power clean, squat heavy, and lift 200 lbs off the freaking ground.

4) To be able to pee on my own when I’m old.

You can bet your ass that I will still be running and lifting when I’m 80 years old. I see it happen. I’ve seen an 80 year old man out-run me. I see older women come in every single day at the gym who are more than capable of doing things on their own. I already don’t like being taken care of right now and I will not like it when I’m older.

5) For my health.

By exercising frequently, I am combating diseases like diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, etc..but I’m also improving my health in other ways such as
– improving my skin
– regulating digestion
– NEVER HAVING HEADACHES. that’s a big one.
– being able to sleep

and so much more.

If that doesn’t convince you to start working out…contact me. i’m sure i can give you a million other reasons you should. 🙂

Now I’m off to the gym. Snatch, squat, deadlift is on the agenda.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Melanie Bowen
    February 19, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    Hello,

    I have a question about your blog, could you please email me? Thanks!!

    Melanie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

