Home > Uncategorized > rock n roll 1/2 marathon recap

rock n roll 1/2 marathon recap

if I were to describe the Virginia Beach Rock N’ Roll Half Marathon in one word it would be: exhausting.
as awesome & fun as i thought it was going to be, it turned out to be somewhat miserable. of course i loved the scenery and adrenaline from running in a race with a ton of other people..but this was my worst race ever. 😦

the race was starting at 7 a.m. you’d think that would be early enough for the weather to be beautiful. wrong. it was already about 80 degrees and the humidity was terrible. i was sweating on the walk to where the race started. i tried to not think about the weather and just do what i do best during races: shut everything out and just run. here’s the recap from what i can recall..
miles 1-3: these flew by. i felt okay..but was already DRIPPING in sweat during the first mile. i literally felt like i jumped into a pool of water. that’s how humid it was. i knew that i wasn’t prepared – hydration wise – to deal with this, so i grabbed water at the first stop and trekked along. around mile 3 i found my mom and stepdad (they started a little bit ahead of me because i had to make a last minute run to the restroom before we started!). i ran with them for a little bit then found my usual pace and got ahead of them.
mile 4: we crossed over the water..that’s all i remember. i could tell my pace was starting to suck here and was already frustrated.
miles 5-6: i blocked these out too until i looked and saw the people who were at the very beginning already on mile 11! WHAT. they’re nuts.
miles: 7-8: my left foot started hurting and i was trying my hardest not to focus on it….so instead i just focused on my music and tuned everything out.
mile 9: i was starting to get really mad at people who would stop and walk right in front of me. okay, i don’t mind if you need to stop and walk..it’s freaking hot and im surprised i haven’t stopped to walk yet either…but if you’re going to walk, please move to the side so i don’t have to weave around you! i kept having to watch where i was going and i knew it was slowing my pace down by weaving through everyone. i about tripped over a guy’s leg who decided it’d be a good idea to just completely stop and stretch in the middle of everyone. thanks for almost making me get injured, dude.
miles 10-11: this was the hardest part of the race for me mentally. i was so fatigued, hot, dehydrated, annoyed with all the music on my ipod… i just thought about stopping and walking. but in my head i was like “NO. you trained for this race for the last 3 months. you gave up everything else to just RUN and TRAIN for this race. you are not stopping now! you are almost there!!”
mile 11.5: i saw a sign that said “it’s been long, it’s been hard. now go faster! that’s what she said.” it made me laugh. first smile during the whole race. this pushed me a little bit to go faster.
miles 12-13.1: this ended up being on the boardwalk so i got to look out at the ocean which was amazing. and there were SO many people at the finish line that it boosted my mood. i tried to push really hard during the end, but my body wouldn’t allow me. i’m usually really good at sprinting the last part, but i couldn’t. another bummer.
at the end, i was glad to be done. i just wanted it to be over the second i started.

so as you can see, this was not my best or favorite race i’ve ever done. it might have to do with the fact that i just wasn’t ready for the conditions..or the fact that towards the end of my training, i was really starting to dread and hate running. it became more of a chore to run rather than a pleasure.

even though i didn’t beat my time, i am still impressed that i didn’t give up and throw in the towel. and i am grateful for the things i’ve learned by doing this race.
yes, i still think i am a runner. but i don’t think i’m a long distance or competitive runner. i am a runner who runs when she wants, however long she wants, and how hard she wants. that’s what makes me happy about running. everything else about it makes me want to punch things.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

