Home > Uncategorized > marion arts festival half marathon recap. what’s next for training?

marion arts festival half marathon recap. what’s next for training?

so…after 12 weeks of training, yesterday was finally my half marathon.

as always, here’s a recap of it using my thoughts during the entire race:

  • fueled with dulce de leche cherrios(um, YUM) with a scoop of almond butter, 1/2 scoop protein powder, almond milk, and sliced banana. i also shared a caramel light frappucino with my mom.
  • we got there 20 minutes before the race began and i really had to use the restroom, but the lines were outrageous so i decided to hold it. [because i can hold it for 2 hours..yeah, not so much.]
  • the morning was BEAUTIFUL. the run started at 7:00 a.m.
  • there were 900 participants and within the first mile there was a small bridge we had to cross that only 2 people at a time could cross so we got held up for a good minute during that time. [this was the start of my ‘not so great’ time]
  • i got to mile 2 in under 20 minutes and there was a restroom so i went because i obviously couldn’t hold it. that took another 90 seconds :/ but oh well i wasn’t too distressed about my time
  • after that i was feeling pretty good. the course was really nice. we went through parks, neighborhoods, roads out in the country-ish.
  • i kind of don’t really recall my thoughts from miles 3-7. i kept passing people and was trying to make up for those 2.5 minutes i lost in the beginning, but i didn’t want to overdo it.
  • around this time, it got HOT. highs were around 88 yesterday and i was definitely feeling it. i took advantage of people who had their sprinklers on and ran through them to cool off. i also grabbed a cup of water at each h2o station.
  • then between miles 8.5 and 10, i hit ‘the wall’. the top of my foot had a very sharp pain and i started having side aches and chest pains. this has never happened during any of my runs so i was starting to get a bit concerned.
  • i still pushed through..until around mile 10 there was a pretty big hill to climb. i just could not get my breathing to stay on pace so i stopped at the water station and started walking for a minute or so. i was super frustrated with myself and could not use my mental self talk skills to keep fighting.
  • i started back up again but the last 3 miles were so difficult for me i stopped to walk about 3 times.
  • i decided to not let it bother me  because i obviously wasn’t feeling very good (might have been a combination of the heat and pain in my foot) and just tried to finish.
  • i sprinted the last 400m to the finish line and crossed with a time of 2 hours and 20 minutes. actually better than i thought it would be with everything that was going on with my mind and body! my des moines time in october was 2:15 i think.

so what’s next?

well i have my warrior dash june 17th. so for now i’m just going to run when i want and maybe focus more on speed training. i’m also going to put more effort into my lifting because i’ve been seeing awesome results in my strength gains lately and i know i can do so much more!

i start teaching a new 6 week bootcamp session tomorrow. we’re calling it “Ultimate Metabolic Training.” Metabolic training is a great way to lose fat in a short amount of time because there is little rest and increases your metabolism which helps you burn more throughout the day. We’re also including a general meal plan for our participants to follow if they want to and I’m going to follow it as well.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jessie
    May 20, 2012 at 10:41 am

    You did great; way to finish. We all have “bad” days of rins and you still finished strong!

  2. Kayla
    May 22, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Can you post the meal plan on here? Any maybe some ways to do those workouts also?? I wish i was in Iowa, I would so take this class!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

