Home > Uncategorized > dam2downtown 10k recap + workout video starring yours truly.

dam2downtown 10k recap + workout video starring yours truly.

Yesterday I ran my first ever 10k. I’ve done multiple 5ks, an 8k, 8.8 mile race, and a 1/2 marathon..but never a 10k.

Thoughts regarding this 6.2 race:

  • I was super excited prior to the day because I heard there were hills and I wanted a good challenging run.
  • That morning, however, I regretted signing up. It was cold, windy, cloudy, and there was a chance for rain. Not the most pleasurable weather to run in. I like it sunny & warm.
  • Once we got moving, I felt okay. No pain in my hamstring (I was having issues a couple days ago).
  • The first hill was brutal. I had a hard time breathing, but I didn’t stop like a lot of people around me did. I just kept trucking up that sucker.
  • Mile marker 1: just shy of 10 minutes. meh, not my best but I knew I had 5 miles to go so I was holding a breezy steady pace.
  • 2nd hill – long & drawn out, but not terrible. I kept thinking “when is this going to end” but I didn’t feel like I needed to slow down. Again, i just kept moving up that thing.
  • Mile marker 2: 19ish minutes keeping a very steady pace here
  • I lost track of the next 2 miles..I was off in my own world thinking about some upcoming big decisions I have to make regarding my life. [I seriously don’t even remember the roads at this point.]
  • Somehow we got from country roads to neighborhoods and I started to pay more attention to my running. I hit mile 4 in 38 or so minutes. We went up another steep hill. wanted to barf. but kept moving my legs.
  • Mile 5: 48 minutes…dangit I just really want to finish in under an hour.. move it sharelle.
  • I started to really pick up my pace during this last mile. I sprinted to the finish line during the last 400m or so.
  • Finished in 59:27 with a 9:35 min/mile pace. not too shabby.
  • I even forgot how cold it was…until I stopped running.

Today I did a 2 mile HIIT routine. Short & simple, yet effective.
Warmed up by walking 4mph on a 5.0 incline.
7 mph for 90 sec
5.5 mph for 2 min
repeat 5x
Cool down: walk 4 mph for 3 minutes

then I did a random short workout I found from fitvillians.tumblr.com
I even made a video to share with you. It’s great for getting your heart rate up and you can do it anywhere. No equipment necessary.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. secondchancerd2b
    April 29, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    Great Blog! Congratulations on your first 10K!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

