Home > Uncategorized > p90x – Week 2

p90x – Week 2

i made it through week 1 of p90x. I had one drawback. Shoulder pain. I took 2 unintended rest days instead of just one, but i doubled up the workouts yesterday to make up for it so i am still on schedule.

what i thought about each of the workouts (in a brief sentence):

Chest & Back: this made me realize how weak my upper body really is. pushups and pullups are extremely hard the 2nd time through this workout. super sore the next 2 days.

Ab Ripper X: painful. goes by quickly though.

Plyometrics: lots of curse words came out of my mouth during this hour of jump training. i’m used to plyos..i do them in all my classes, on my own, ALL THE TIME….and i still felt like i was dying.

Shoulders & Arms: i needed heavier weight for some. was also sore the next day. i liked the addition of moves i’ve never seen before. ended up using a couple for my circuit classes that i teach.

Yoga X: loved every second of that hour and a half. i forgot how much i need/miss doing yoga. i could tell i was really tight and needed good stretching. it provided that for me.

Legs & Back: again with pullups. felt stronger than the 1st time, but still need the chair. i’ll get there! i really enjoyed the leg portion as well. didn’t need much weight for most of the moves and the calf raises BURNED.

Kenpo X: not as intense as i would have liked. i may have to substitute this for a group fitness kickboxing class because i think i would get more out of those. i’ll continue with it though until i can find a spot to put kickboxing in my schedule.

There ya have it… Week 1 complete. Here’s my tentative workout schedule for this coming up week (12/12-12/18)… as you can see I added a couple classes along with p90x. Some I teach and some I’m attending to get ideas for my own classes. 🙂

I am starting to like P90x because I think it will be helpful for me to see how I can improve in my strength each week. I did Chest & Back again yesterday and ended up doing more pullups than the first week. In some areas I actually did worse, but I think that’s because my shoulder still hurts quite a bit and I was taking it easier than i probably would have.

I need to step it up on the nutrition plan. hopefully after finals week I can really follow it correctly. I haven’t been doing the right protein-carb-fat ratios. (still not having enough protein in comparison to the others).

I’ll leave you with a recipe i’ve been enjoying for breakfast everyday…

Peanut Butter Apple Oats
serves 1

1/3 cup oats
1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water
1 chopped apple
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg white or 1/4 cup cottage cheese
2 tbsp pb2 or 1 tbsp pb
1 tbsp protein powder

Cook oats on stove in almond milk  and water. Microwave chopped apple for a minute then add to stove. Simmer for a couple minutes then stir in cinnamon, vanilla, egg white(or cottage cheese), pb, and protein powder.

recycled picture


Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

