Home > Uncategorized > december end of the year goals + fat shredder meal plan

december end of the year goals + fat shredder meal plan

hello abs

um if that’s not inspiration, i don’t know what is.
who said girls with muscles are gross? because that my friends, is pure beauty in my eyes. and she’s not “skinny”..you can tell she is HEALTHY & STRONG.

with it being already december 7th, i thought i should make some “end of the year” goals.

speaking of goals..i think they can be very effective if taken seriously. they can also be very ineffective. don’t beat yourself up if you can’t attain the goals you set for yourself. you can always start over. you will have days where you may screw up. plan for those to happen and just get right back up again the next day.
in the past year, i have set a huge number of goals. my problem is i set too many goals for myself. i need to focus on less and really put effort into short term goals rather than long-term.
I am a prime example of someone who does not follow through on goals. the only ones i have achieved as of recently was running a half marathon (which was a HUGE goal for me!!) and getting group fitness certified. both of those were very awesome accomplishments, but now i would like to focus on the little things.

1) stick with p90x for the full 12 weeks. (you can follow my progress blog here)

plan of attack: figure out which days is best to do certain workouts. if something comes up, don’t freak out and give up. just start from the day you left off. instead of using a calendar with the actual days (monday, tuesday, etc…) i will be following the plan using “day 1, day 2, day 3, etc..” this has already helped immensely. it will also help when i have to teach a lot in one day & just am too exhausted to do the p90x. i can save it for the next.

so in reality, p90x may take me longer than the 12 weeks. but that is OK. i am not going to beat myself up about it.

2) limit fruit intake and heavy carbs to before 1 p.m.

plan of attack: use fruit as my morning snack or incorporated into breakfast.

again, i am not going to beat myself up if i am craving a piece of fruit in the afternoon/evening. ill be listening to my body. but i do find that i have better sleep if i limit these in to earlier in the day.
– i heard once that an apple has the same amount of energy as a cup of coffee. no wonder i couldn’t get to sleep when i ate an apple before bed every night.

3) tackle a cleaning task or an organization “to do” task everyday

not only will this help keep me moving, but will also help keep me & cathy’s apartment cleaner and more organized 🙂

4) practice intuitive eating

will help with my struggles of binge eating

5) post more recipes & workouts

Okay, I have to stop there. Otherwise, too many goals will be ineffective for me. I feel like all of these are very attainable.

Along with doing the p90x workouts for 12 weeks, I am also taking a look at the nutrition plan. According to my stats, it says I should be following the fat shredder level 1 phase 1. This is going to “help build muscle and burn fat.” My problem with it is that it is very low-carb. & I don’t really do well on low-carb. But it is for only the first phase, so I will willing to give it a try. I am not saying I am going to follow this plan entirely, but I will stick rather close.

Here is a sample week of meals that I will be trying to abide by:

P90X – Fat Shredder Phase 1 Level 1 (1800/day)

Meal Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5 Day 6 Day 7
Breakfast ½ cup oats with cinnamon, pb2 2 slices of whole grain toast, pb2 Egg white omelet with veggies Egg white omelet with veggies ½ cup oatmeal with cinnamon & pb2 Egg white omelet with veggies 2 slices whole grain toast, pb2
AM Snack Apple, protein bar Protein bar Apple, protein bar Apple, protein bar Apple, protein bar Apple, 1 scoop protein powder Apple, protein bar
Lunch 6 oz chicken breast, baby carrots Spinach salad with 4oz turkey, carrots, green onions, mrs dash Tuna(2 cans), 2 tbsp ff sour cream, mrs dash, 2 slices whole grain bread 6 oz chicken breast, baby carrots Tuna, 2 cans, 2 tbsp ff sour cream, mrs dash, 2 slices whole grain bread, baby carrots 6 oz chicken breast, baby carrots Spinach salad with 4 oz turkey, carrots, green onions, mrs dash
PM Snack Almonds(24 raw), ½ cup greek yogurt 1 scoop whey protein, ½ cup greek yogurt Almonds(24 raw), ½ cup greek yogurt Almonds (24 raw), ½ cup greek yogurt Almonds (24 raw), ½ cup greek yogurt Almonds (24 raw), protein bar Almonds (24 raw), 1 scoop whey
Dinner 6 oz chicken, 2 cups steamed green beans or broccoli 6 oz salmon, 2 cups green beans or broccoli 6 oz chicken breast, 2 cups steamed green beans or broccoli 6 oz tilapia, ¼ cup brown rice, 2 cups steamed broccoli Taco salad (romaine, ground turkey w/ taco seasoning, black beans 6 oz tilapia, ¼ cup brown rice, 2 cups steamed broccoli 6 oz chicken breast, 2 cups steamed green beans or broccoli
Late PM Snack 1 scoop whey protein powder or 1 cup cottage cheese  1 scoop whey or 1 cup cottage cheese 1 scoop whey or 1 cup cottage cheese 1 scoop whey or 1 cup cottage cheese 1 scoop whey or 1 cup cottage cheese 1 scoop whey or 1 cup cottage cheese 1 scoop whey or 1 cup cottage cheese

(day 7 is cut off, but you get the idea..)

*they recommend the recovery & results formula for after workouts. I can’t really afford it (or the shakeology that they have) so I am going to be using 1% chocolate milk for my recovery drink. It has a perfect amount of carbs and protein to help recover muscles in the same way.

*this is just a sample meal plan I found. I tend to eat a more variety of veggies than what is noted, so I may be trading in things like carrots for cauliflower or zucchini for green beans, etc… Variety is key for me. J I also don’t think I can give up sweet potatoes so I may be adding those in as well even though they are seen as more of a “carb” than a vegetable.

*I have a huge container of mixed nuts that I will most likely trade out for the almonds (they don’t contain peanuts so I don’t think this will be a problem)

*I may also be trading in apples for bananas if I plan to do heavy cardio that day

Things I will be trying my hardest to stay away from:

–          Added sugars (lately I have been having chocolate almost every day. Dark chocolate of course.) hopefully the chocolate milk will help that craving!

–          Unnecessary carbs. The “mindless” eating that I usually partake in is in the form of empty carbs like tortilla chips, cereal, crackers, etc… I plan on not buying these items as they provide no nutritional value for their calorie content.

What are your goals?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 7, 2011 at 9:59 am

    We will have the most organized, clean, crafty apartment on this side of Coralville!

  2. Christie Nibaur
    December 7, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I wish I could have your dedication!

  1. December 8, 2011 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

