Home > Uncategorized > never let success get to your head and never let failure get to your heart

never let success get to your head and never let failure get to your heart

i walk a fine line between feeling “successful” and feeling like a failure.
there’s not really much middle ground for me.
perhaps this is because i create such high expectations and standards for myself that if i don’t achieve even the littlest things, i feel like a die hard failure.
STOP.
that’s all i need to do.
is just stop. stop and smell the roses. don’t focus on these negative things weighing you down.
instead of telling myself “sharelle, you skipped a work out today, way to fail at life. way to ruin your fitness goals. you’ll never be as strong as you want.” i need to tell myself “hey, your body decided it was a much needed rest day only to kick even more butt the following day. or maybe since you didn’t go to the gym, you got to actually hang out with your friends who miss & never get to see you. it’s okay. there’s always tomorrow!”


this is what i need to work on. especially this summer. get rid of these negative thoughts. because they run through my head like wild fire and sometimes it gets to be so overwhelming that i forget how much i enjoy the little things.
waking up to sunshine instead of a beeping alarm.
when people smile at you as you walk by, even if they don’t have a clue who you are.
the smell of fresh cut grass or a morning after a huge thunderstorm.
walking into an air conditioned building after dripping in sweat from iowa humidity.
your favorite peanut butter being on sale for $2 cheaper than the normal arm+leg price. (i stocked up on two, thank you very much.)

it’s all about the little things.
not about succeeding. not about failing.
“success isn’t how far you got, but the distance you traveled from where you started.”

it’s grasping life by the fingertips and living.
with one more year of college left, i have been freaking out because i don’t know what i want to do with my life.
it doesn’t matter.
as long as im happy.
constant reminder.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Chris
    May 26, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    I hear you on the whole success/failure seesaw, and I’m glad to see you’ve adapted such a positive approach on the matter. Just like you skipping a workout (with your whirlwind regimen, I’d say you earn every bit of your rest!), I’d beat myself up over just about anything–anything that was, in any way, below my expectations of myself or even my perception of others’ expectations of me. I’d withhold a college paper because I thought it was junk, I just never wanted an instructor to wonder “what, did he just phone this one in?”. There was once an in-class speech I had to give, and I almost skipped the class because I had such little faith in my work. Once delivered, I was more disgusted with myself than I could’ve imagined. I wasn’t visibly flustered, or anything, but I thought it was just horrid. I wanted to dash out of the class, but then the instructor, after a few moment’s pause, singled out my paper as exceptional, and all these peers spoke up with compliments and how no one wanted to follow that up, etc. Forgive the dull, self-congratulatory tale, but it was in that moment that I realized, even being a reasonable critic of quality, I was biased *against* myself–to a fault. I think that auto-aversion to our lot in life can be an excellent motivational tool; it’s great in preventing complacency, but (thinking, now, of your “unless you accept your faults, you will always doubt your virtues” post), I think some people–myself included–can take this too far and be blind to any of their redeeming features, attributes, or efforts.

    Glad you’re taking the time to enjoy the little things–I’ve taken to doing the same–and even though I’m also unsure of what I want out of life or exactly what to do with my life, I now know that I have some abilities, I’m happy, and that I’ll figure it out within a reasonable time-frame. Keep up the great work, by the way; I love the blog! You’ve struck a great mix of recipes, workouts, and general feel-good life stuff. Kudos!

    • May 26, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      I’m glad you love the blog! I mostly started for myself, just a place to write about my life and my goals of living a healthy lifestyle. I’m so happy it’s starting to become an inspiration to others. 🙂 Keep enjoying the little things! Life’s too short to put too much effort into anything else.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

