Home > Uncategorized > five things.

five things.

that, my friends, would be my new favorite breakfast. next to oatmeal, of course.
this is the ever so popular “breakfast cookie dough cereal” that has popped up in the blog world thanks to Gina.

Sharelle’s Breakfast Berry Cookie Dough Cereal
1/3 cup oats
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp stevia
pinch of sea salt
1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
1-2 tbsp almond butter
1 cup hemp milk

mix all dry ingredients together until you get a cookie dough consistency (add a tiny bit of milk if you need) and once you get a cookie dough consistency, top with 1 cup milk and all your toppings

toppings: fiber one cereal, coconut, berries

We didn’t end up going to the Thai restaurant tonight. All 3 of us were pretty tired so we just stayed in and ordered pizza and watched a movie. I ended up having 4 pieces of veggie thin crust pizza. that’s what waking up at 2 p.m., working out hard at the gym, and barely eating anything all day will do to ya i guess.

We watched Gulliver’s Travels. I thought it was just “okay.” It was cute, but sometimes I just don’t really like Jack Black as an actor.
I really want to see Harry Potter.
Does that make me a nerd? It’s okay if it does. My friends and I are going to have a Harry Potter marathon. Dressing up is required.

Before I turn any possible readers away I’ll end with 5 random facts about me. This might end up turning people away too.

1) I hate watermelon & cucumbers.
-I know what you’re thinking and I’ve heard it many times. How can you hate watermelon? You call yourself “healthy” but don’t like one of the best fruits out there? Pshh.. what’s wrong with you? I think it tastes like..nothing. Or flavored water. And i despise flavored water. Same with cucumbers. Gross.
2) I’m a coffee snob.
Working at Starbucks and the current coffee shop I work at has turned me into a total coffee snob. I know exactly what a good cup of coffee is supposed to taste like. I could tell you what pairs well with what roast or blend, I could tell you if the espresso shots in your latte were pulled correctly by the barista, and I’m one of “those” customers whose drink order is longer than a children’s book.
3) I’m claustrophobic.
Small, enclosed, tiny places freak me out. Don’t ever expect me to go into any tight caves or even hide in a closet. I get really nervous, out of breath, and my chest feels really tight when I’m in those kind of situations. I love going to concerts, but if I get anywhere near the front where everyone is trying to get close to the stage… full blown anxiety attack will occur.

4) I’m seriously debating on whether or not to be vegetarian again.
I honestly feel worse if I eat a meal that involves meat compared to a meat-free meal. I feel more energized after vegetables, fruits, and grains. If you add meat to the equation, sure I feel full, but I also want to sleep & be lazy.

5) I can’t wait to move out of Iowa.
Don’t get me wrong, I really do like Iowa. I think Iowa is a great state for academics, the people are very friendly, and I feel “safe” here. I just feel like people stay in Iowa and never really take the chance to get out and enjoy the rest of the world and what it has to offer. I feel like Iowa is a place to settle and I have never been a person to want to settle. So when my last year of my college career is over, I definitely plan to move out of this state. It’s okay if I decide to come back and live here, I think I would be happy with that. I just feel like I need to experience a change before I do that.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Chris
    May 25, 2011 at 12:02 am

    This is just what’s worked for me, but, regarding the whole “sleepy and lazy” thing after eating meats I might recommend breaking up your macronutrients across meals. For instance: I’m die-hard about eggs before working out (usually 2 yolks and 6 whites), but I don’t have any carbs. This way I have protein and fats, but no carbs. If I have a snack later it might be some almonds with an apple (i.e. fats, carbs, but very little protein). Or a spinach salad with a chicken breast, walnuts, and salsa on top (i.e. fats, protein, but very few carbs). You get the idea. A meal with all three macronutrients, like a sandwich, for instance, likely has 40g+ carbs from the bread alone, plenty of protein from whatever the meat might be, and fats from either a non-lean meat or whatever toppings e.g. cheese, mayo/pesto/whatever. Now *that* will make me feel sleepy and lazy, and you might be the same way. For this reason, I generally shoot for 2/3 macronutrients max, lest I want to lounge around for 3hr+ like a boa constrictor digesting a whole pig.

    Anyway, I hope you find whatever works for you, but I can remember being frustrated by side stitches and cramps from sports (baseball, soccer, swimming) back in high school because I didn’t have the best understanding of food as fuel. I, like most, just ate whatever whenever I was hungry, without regard to the activity at hand. This was only amplified by the pre-performance jitters (swimming was the worst with the ample down-time to kind of stew and be anxious), so, eventually I just kind of fasted before these events, which, in hindsight, led to hypoglycemia and the corresponding performance drop. Still, I’d rather fight that than the aforementioned cramps and stitches. Looking back, I know that could’ve all been avoided with what I do now, and have been doing for several years: I simply don’t eat meals will fats, proteins, and carbs at the same time *unless* I want to do my best boa constrictor impersonation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

