Hi all!
Or to the 3 people that actually read my blog: mom, Chris, & Jessie. šŸ™‚

Yesterday ended up being a pretty good day. After bootcamp, I did some work at my apartment and then came and worked 1-6. Ran some errands (yes, mother, i got your “treat”) @ my least favorite place, Wal-Mart. I picked up a lot of organizing tools because for some reason I have become so disorganized in the past few months.
Favorite purchase: binder to placeĀ  all of my awesome work outs so I can just take them to the gym and not stand around wondering what I should do. “Cardio? nah…i’m not feeling it. What the heck should I do with this kettlebell….” etc etc… Now I will have written work outs planned out ahead of time.

I never mentioned how my Step n Tone class went, did I?
Well… I had two people. I didn’t really know what to expect with it being a 4:30 pm class and most of the students have left the city to go back to their hometowns. I wasn’t really disappointed, I actually felt really comfortable. I got a good work out from just teaching it too.. here’s how my set up was:

Step for 20 minutes (with a 5 minute warm up). Included 3 step combinations to really get their hearts pumping.
Right after the step routine, I added a “Cardio Burst” which consisted of…
Quick toe taps on the bench, jump rope, high knees, butt kicks, football fire feet, jumping jacks, and back to jump rope.

The strength routine was definitely my favorite. Set “A” we used a barbell (I used two 10 lb weights on each side) and for set “B” we used dumbbells. (I used 8 lb dumbbells.)
All the counts were 8-16 singles, slow up 2, down 2 counts for 8, and back to single counts for 8

Set #1 A:
Static lunges
Bicep curls
Overhead shoulder press

B:
Hammer curls
SideĀ & Front lateral raises

Set #2 A:
Squats
Underhand rows
Deadlifts

B:
Plie squat & upright row
Reverse fly
Bent over rows

Set #3:
Chest press
Hip lift
Tricep dips

B:
Chest fly
Tricep extension

Abs:
Basic crunch
Oblique crunches
Reverse crunch
Front planks
Side planks

STRETCH.

I’ll probably repeat this routine next time too since I only had two people.

Last night I didn’t do much. I had to be up for work @ 6 a.m. this morning so I had a night in. (This is becoming way too common. I need to get out!)

This mornings breakfast was a good one. A strawberry smoothie. Yum.
In the mix: 5 oz plain kefir, 2 oz hemp milk, 4 strawberries, 1 tbsp better n’ peanut butter, 1/4 tsp almond extract, 1 scoop vanilla whey protein. Pinch of guar gum for creaminess.Ā Topped with kashi go lean cereal.

Looked like this.

(source)

well. I should probably get to work. I might declare today as a rest day for exercise…but if I’m feeling it, I may run. (Not outside though. We’re back to rain.)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Chris
    May 22, 2011 at 1:02 am

    You have to focus on not that you have–in your modest estimation–three readers, but rather on the fact that your readership has increased threefold (the sure-fire first reader in your Mom being the baseline)! Likewise, I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see a similarly meteoric increase in your Step ‘n’ Tone attendance (once the word gets out, of course). Either way, I sure appreciate your blog, and I’ve been diligently taking notes on the wealth of recipes you’ve been so kind as to share. I’d consider myself kind of a stoic eater–in that I don’t mind eating healthy stuff that most consider soul-crushingly boring–but these exotic, far-ranging recipes and workouts will be instrumental in showing people like my sister, for instance, that eating healthily doesn’t have to be dull as ricecakes, and exercise doesn’t have to be as monotonous as hitting a treadmill for an hour. Seriously, this is really helpful stuff, so thanks again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

